Splendid Sausage Company Is Splendid

15 Apr

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yesterday I ate a lot. Yes, I do eat a lot most days but seriously, Splendid Sausage Company really, really spoiled me. The brand new gourmet dining joint which has been open less than a week wants you to know straight off that they say ‘No’ to Weiners.

Yes this is a hot dog place, but no, they don’t serve those slimy excuses for meat that come preserved in liquid like some sort of grotesque lab sample. They use Howarth’s Butchers for all their meaty sausages, and that lovers, is a place that has won the gold medal for Best Cumberland Sausages.

Once they’ve got the ultimate basics, they pile right on there with a myriad of completely fresh, in-house ingredients. A popular concoction is The King, which brings peanut butter and banana to the hot dog party. As I have more allergies than I’d care to admit, this serving is out of the question for me. Instead, I’m served the JYD and the Mexican, along with their already semi-famous eggs benedict fries. I told you I ate a lot.

I’m also served a ‘Sundae Strawberry Blondie’ which is better than it sounds, but which won’t be around for long. You see, Splendid like to mix things up a bit, and so their dessert changes weekly and will morph to suit occasion. This Easter weekend for example, I’d reccomend going to check out their sausages shot through with chocolate and topped with home made hot cross bun crumb. And then finish that up with an Easter egg pinata cake, which you’d be actually mental to pass up.

Thank you Mike and Emily for having me, you guys have a seriously cool restaurant.

Check out on Twitter


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA



OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Mexican

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The JYD

Leave a Reply

