Pancake Cake – Heart Attack Edition

4 Mar

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I knew that there was a reason I went spinning yesterday. Pancake Day. It crept up on me in a really delightful, sugary way and now I’m just thrilled that I round housed them calories yesterday because I’m telling you now – I am going to replace them.

I’ve always liked pancake day for obvious reasons – any celebration that occasions the word ‘cake’ in the title of an entire day is not something to get sniffy about. Usually I don’t do much. I flip my own and cover them in sugar (hold the citrusy buzz kill), have about six and then recline in a state of pancake-induced euphoria.

This year I am a bona fide blogger and Twitter has told me therefore that I have to try something overt, decadent and not out of place at Gatsby’s. So, here is my chocolate tiered, cream sandwiched pillar of goodness. I hope you join in on my wanton show of hedonism, if only so we can share in our shame.*

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • 175 g plain flour
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 25g cocoa powder
  • 100g granulated sugar
  • 2tsp vanilla extract
  • 350ml milk
  • a pinch of salt

for the whipped cream filling

  • half a pot of double cream
  • a little icing sugar

1. Combine the dry ingredients until mixed (that’s the flour, baking powder, cocoa powder, salt and sugar).

2. When combined add the ‘wet’ ingredients i.e the milk and vanilla extract – with a little oil. (I know, gross right, but this isn’t a weight watcher’s meet.)

3. Prepare your non stick pan with either butter or oil, depending on which side of naughty you’re feeling.

4. For each pancake, let around 60ml of batter. Do your flipping thang. Or flip them with a spatula if you live life in the slow lane.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5. When you’ve used up all the batter on your pancakes, let them cool.

6. In the meantime, prepare the whipped cream by whisking the shit out of the double cream, slowly adding icing sugar until the cream is thoroughly whipped and diabetes-infused.

7. Sandwich the cooled pancakes together with the cream to create a stack.

8. If you want – which you do – you can drizzle them in melted chocolate. Melt some chocolate by suspending a glass bowl over a saucepan of boiling water (do not let the bottom of the bowl touch the water!) and stirring the bar of your choice untill it is…melted. Or top with Nutella as I did.

9. Drizzle.

10. Instagram.

11. Eat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAimage

* The dirty, pretty little thing do not accept any responsibility for diabetes.

Inspired by blog Zoom Yummy.

2 Responses to “Pancake Cake – Heart Attack Edition”

  1. Petrina March 5, 2014 at 5:22 pm #

    This looks amazing, I will have to try this amazing creation one day.

    P.xx
    GreyWalls

Leave a comment